Monday, 26 July 2021 | 08:09
View by:

Alaska Maritime Prevention & Response Network Receives Prestigious “Osprey Award” for Environmental Protection

Wednesday, 08 July 2020 | 23:00

The Alaska Maritime Prevention & Response Network (Network) has been awarded the top-level, prestigious Rear Admiral William M. Benkert Marine Environmental Protection Osprey Award of Excellence from the United States Coast Guard. The Network received the award for its innovative programs, commitment to its participants and Alaska, and proven results in protecting the marine environment throughout Prince William Sound and Western Alaska. The Coast Guard only selects one organization nation-wide every two years to receive the coveted Osprey Award.

“On behalf of our Board of Directors, staff, enrollees, and our many partners, I am humbled and honored to accept this distinguished award,” Network President and CEO Buddy Custard said. “This recognition from the Coast Guard is a testament to the quality of our programs and our ongoing efforts to support safe, sustainable, and environmentally responsible shipping in the remote and often unforgiving reaches of Alaska's waters and throughout the maritime industry. I'm proud of the contributions we have made and look forward to continuing our work on incident prevention, rapid-oil spill response, and pioneering safety measures in protecting the marine environment.” “Our programs support over 4,700 enrolled vessels, representing more than 500 shipping companies based around the globe, as they strive to comply with OPA 90 and their own commitments to environmental protection,” said Mike Moore, Chairman of the Network Board of Directors. “Our team is committed to developing, implementing, and improving prevention and response capabilities, and providing confidence not only to our client vessels but also to the people of Alaska, environmental groups, state and federal government agencies, and the maritime industry we serve.”

The William M. Benkert Award is the premier environmental protection award within the maritime industry presented by the Coast Guard. The biennial award was created in 1995 to recognize outstanding achievements in marine environmental protection that go beyond mere compliance with industrial and regulatory standards. The award criteria include the following critical success factors:

• environmental policies
• objectives and targets
• pollution prevention activity
• safety management
• outreach
• partnership
• performance metrics

The award program has five levels of recognition – Osprey, Gold, Silver, Bronze, and Honorable Mention – to acknowledge an applicant's progress in pursuing environmental excellence. The Network was presented the award today at the North American Marine Environment Protection Association's (NAMEPA) virtual “Safety At Sea” event.

Source: Alaska Maritime Prevention & Response Network

    There are no comments available.
    In order to send the form you have to type the displayed code.